Wednesday, April 1, 2009



A Technology and Innovation Seminar

"Federal R&D Employment Growth "

Professor Albert Link, University of North Carolina at Greensboro

When: April 15, 2009 5:00 PM to 6:30 PM

1957 E Street, Room 602, Washington, DC 20052

Please RSVP:

The economic impact of federal R&D spending has long been a topic of policy interest. The literature on the subject includes case studies of federally-funded initiatives, econometric analyses of the statistical relationship between federal R&D and total factor productivity, and evaluations of the social impact of federal research programs. To date, there has not been a systematic investigation of the impact of federal R&D on employment growth.
Professor Link will present his findings about the impact of Small Business
Innovation Research (SBIR) program awards on the employment growth of
recipient company. He will conclude that, per company, the average employment gain attributable to SBIR support has been between 21 and 41 employees, and the average employment gain per million dollars awarded has been between 32 and 65 employees.

Albert N. Link is professor of economics at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro. He received the B.S. degree in mathematics from the University of Richmond and the Ph.D. degree in economics from Tulane University . His research focuses on innovation policy, the economics of R&D, and university entrepreneurship.

He is the Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Technology Transfer. Professor Link’s most recent books include: Government as Entrepreneur (with Jamie Link, Oxford University Press, forthcoming summer 2009), Cyber Security: Economic Strategies and Public Policy Alternatives (Edward Elgar, 2008) and Entrepreneurship, Innovation, and Technological Change (Oxford University Press, 2007).

His scholarship has appeared in such journals at the American Economic Review, Journal of Political Economy, Review of Economics and Statistics, Economica, and Research Policy . Currently, Professor Link is serving as the vice-chairperson of the Team of Specialists of the Innovation and Competitivness Policies Committee of the United Nation's Economic Commission for Europe.

No comments: